Mental health – my perspective

Something that has kept me thinking since we lost a very good actor, Sushant Singh. Each of us have speculated why he is no more, some think it is depression others have their own version.
And a couple of things I’d like to say is:
  • Just putting up a post or sharing a status when something extreme happens ain’t going to help. Look around and have a real conversation with people. We are in an era where catch up with friends results in spending more time on the phone than with people in person; we are in two different places. Most times there’s no or superficial conversations about the good things.
  • when you expect people to talk, you need to listen, without judgments. And when someone is entrusting you with a piece of their life, don’t, just don’t use their problem or weakness against them in the future, it is devastating. They will never ever trust another person!
  • Also it’s not necessary to talk to everyone about your problems but atleast have someone, who you can talk to; a friend, a partner, a stranger, a counselor, anyone who you feel comfortable talking to.
  • And for those who don’t want to talk, writing helps, this is from a personal experience, write every detail that is bothering you and the burden eases.
  • Most times a person who is dealing with a problem will not want to open up, will not want to share because they do not like anyone interfering and its ok if they don’t share at that point, don’t push them but at the same time assure them you are there for them.
  • Another thing i read today is a person’s success or productivity doesn’t define their mental well being. By the grace of God, I’ve had a good job and I’ve traveled quite a bit and 99% of you have seen the bright side of my life through my instagram handle but I’ve had a fair bit of challenges myself and I’ve been extremely lucky to have my go to people each time I’ve fallen.
  • Talking to a counselor doesn’t tag you as a “maniac”, it actually makes you stronger because you have decided to seek help to overcome your issues and grow stronger. I’ve been to a counselor myself and I’M NOT ASHAMED OF IT!
  • Self resilience- Your life is very very precious, nobody just nobody can be the reason for you to give up your life, nobody deserves that kind of attention in your life. YOU are important, your well-being is important, you need to prioritize yourself over everyone and everything; it doesn’t come easy, but you need to focus on YOU! I can only thank my sisters (from other mothers and my mother) and friends who have always emphasized on this so much!
  • In one of the discussions on mental health I was moved when i heard that for people undergoing extreme depression it’s quite a big deal to even brush their teeth. A task which is routine for you could be a challenge for someone else, don’t judge, be empathetic, be kind!
I’m no expert, not even a novice but I have written this basis my personal life or what I’ve heard and learnt over the years. If you don’t agree with what i said, I respect your thoughts.
And its a great loss that we lost Sushant, let’s pray for him and his family and for every person who’s dealing with issues or a loss.
Mental health
Image Courtesy – Rajeshwari Akula (my sister).
Love,
Your wanderer!

Leave a comment